giovedì 21 giugno 2007

Certifiable



Finally got around to finishing another one of my Cisco certs last month. I think I've mostly been draggin my feet because the concept of certifications is evil... They don't really test the proper skill set, they cost money, and they give employers false impressions... But what can you do in the current job market... feh!Regardless, I now have a CCNP cert (Cisco Certified Network Professional), and I'm going to actually bother with the Security and IP Telephony versions next. After that CCIE.This would be merely amusing if not for the fact that I've already been doing the jobs covered by these certs for years, and considerably better than the test writers, at least judging from the quality of their exams. There is a good 10% margin of error in the way they phrase their questions... With required test scores in the 70-85% range... 10% can be a big deal !

Nessun commento: